Symphonic Works

Works / Recordings

Les tziganes, symphonic suite, op. 2


1. Allegro maestoso (L’arrivée des tziganes)
2. Andantino (Idylle à Floreasca)
3. Allegro (Ivresse / Le festin)

Suite in classical style for strings


Toccata for strings


1. Preludiu (Allegro)
2. Intermezzo (Andante)
3. Fuga (Allegro) – unfinished

Three symphonic sketches, op. 4

1937 – 1941

Preludio, chorale e fuga in modo antico per tutti arche, op. 10

1941 – ?
Dedication: “Dédié à mon père”

“This work has not been found amongst Lipatti’s manuscripts; we do have a comment written by the composer and containing detailed information on the form and structure of this piece which he catalogues, together with his Sonatina for the left hand, as op. 10.” (Bărgăuanu, Grigore and Tănăsescu, Dragoș. Dinu Lipatti)