Les tziganes, symphonic suite, op. 2


Works / Catalogue / Symphonic Works

  1. Allegro maestoso (L’arrivée des tziganes)
  2. Andantino (Idylle à Floreasca)
  3. Allegro (Ivresse / Le festin)

First performance: Bucharest, January 23, 1936. "George Enescu” Bucharest Philharmonic. Conductor: Mihail Jora

Awarded first prize at the "George Enescu” National Composition Competition in 1934 and the Silver Medal of the French Republic in 1937

Manuscript (Romanian Composers’ and Musicologists’ Union Library: two versions for orchestra, shelf mark 3350 and 3351; piano reduction, dated March 23, 1934, shelf mark 3352; piano part of the third movement, shelf mark 3353)